2019 W. T. Aikins Award Winner

Patient As A Teacher

Share this Post:


Patient as Teacher program is the 2019 W. T. Aikins Award winner

Congratulations to Dr. Jory Simpson (AERO Researcher) and his Patient as Teacher program on winning the 2019 W. T. Aikins Award in the category of Excellence in Development and Use of Educational Innovations!

The W. T. Aikins Award is the most prestigious Faculty of Medicine award for commitment to and excellence in undergraduate medical education. Winners of this award are selected from nominees identified in a Faculty-wide process. The criteria for the awards are extremely rigorous, and each nomination requires extensive support from both peers and students. Documentation, student evaluation, and peer evaluation are carefully reviewed for each nominee by a panel of faculty and students. The award honours the winner’s invaluable contribution to the Faculty of Medicine’s educational mission and significant commitment to our undergraduate medical education teaching program.

Other News Articles To Explore:

Coaching for surgeons’ wellness

Led by Dr. Marisa Louridas, this mixed methods study investigates the implementation and impacts of a formal surgeon-to-surgeon coaching program for early career surgeons. Rooted

Read More »

AI to assess surgical skills

Led by Dr. Marisa Louridas, this mixed methods study explores if the BlackBox Explorer system (Surgical Safety Technology, Toronto Ontario) can streamline how surgical trainees

Read More »

PEIT-MH Project

PEIT-MH: Patient Experiencing involuntary transport in Mental Health. Led by Dr. Saadia Sediqzadah, this study will examine the experiences of patients apprehended by the police

Read More »
Hospital with Doctor and Nurses

Autumn 2020 Newsletter

Read the latest AERO Autumn newsletter featuring: i) AERO Profiles – Meet our Scientists, ii) Kudos, iii) Featured Articles, iV) AERO: What does it stand

Read More »
Skip to content